M.I.A Bad Girls

I recently read a blog completely slating M.I.A for her recent video ‘Bad Girls’, so i thought her art deserved to be defended. A while ago, M.I.A featured in an article in Nirali Magazine mentioning her work so far.

She said ‘Nobody wants to be dancing to political songs … Every bit of music out there that’s making it into the mainstream is really about nothing. I wanted to see if I could write songs about something important and make it sound like nothing. And it kind of worked’.

What an honest yet dangerous thing to say. To suggest that majority of the music we hear has no meaning or political intention. After many artists have worked tirelessly on tracks, spending hour after hour focusing on an album’s perfection.
To be honest, I completely agree with her. She has hit the nail on the head there. Sure, I surrender to mainstream music but that’s just because it’s there, right in front of you. M.I.A’s attitude comes across beautifully in her recent video ‘Bad Girls’. I loved the Arabian feel to the music video and this set it apart from every other pop video that consumers see out there.

M.I.A deserves to be on a platform of her own when it comes to music. She is such a bad-ass and I love it! What do you guys think?

2 thoughts on “M.I.A Bad Girls

  1. I loved this song and video. I like mainstream music, and I feel like its never really bothered me that alot of it didn’t “mean anything” since I don’t feel like every song has to be super deep and meaningful to be important. But i really do like how different she is. & the backing track to this song is the most amazing thing, not to mention how amazing her personal style is.

    Also, thanks for following my blog πŸ™‚ If you’re still keen to follow, I’ve changed to my own domain at http://www.morganvsmorgan.com πŸ™‚

    • I totally agree. I think when she spoke about songs having a meaning, she didn’t mean that it had to have a heavy message every time, but for it not to be the same croc-of-shite we hear on the radio every day. Maybe I need to change my station but i could definitely do with more Motown! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

