Ode to my ‘fashion whore’

Most of those around my wonderful other half will certainly be fully aware of his obsession with (what I call overpriced) fashion. Although my friends and I do mock him for being a bit of a ‘brand whore’, he has his reasons. Being more than a fashion nerd than myself, Ollie is becoming very aware of the reputation of a brand, the concept behind it and most importantly, where it’s made. He has particular brands that he chooses to follow due to their quality and sometimes, their morals.

Rightly so, he is madly in love with Comme Des Garcons, Billionaire Boys Club, Ice Cream and YMC. More recently though, he has managed to curb his taste towards a more ‘affordable’ type of brand – streetwear. Stussy, Supreme, Carrhart and Palace seem to be his obsession at the moment, which I’m happy with thanks to the reduced price tag.

Recently I have found that he has rubbed off on me and I’ve found myself being more aware of the story behind a brand and the quality of the product, before becoming interested in a brand. American Apparel, for instance have really captured me since I began following them on Instagram. The brand proudly communicate the fact that their employees come first, before anything else. They’re well known for hiring their employees mostly in America (7,000 odd out of 12,000 work in the USA), so the consumer has the confidence in knowing their product has not travelled across the globe and that it’s been created locally. In turn the message that the label hope to communicate is to ‘Buy Local’, which I think is quite cool. More importantly, American Apparel garment employees are the highest paid garment workers in the world being paid in relevance to how many garments they create. I have enjoyed learning more about various brands and I’m actually getting into it!

Image

Carrhart

Image

Baby Milo

Image

Billionaire Boys Club

Image

Stussy

Image

Palace

So basically, this is my Ode to my ‘fashion whore’ boyfriend, for encouraging me to be more aware of a brand before I buy into it.

Leave a Reply

