Product Review: Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer

smashbox primerI think I am slightly obsessed with beauty products as I’m quite content with splashing a bit of cash in this area. When it comes to my make-up, I’ve always chosen quality over quantity and I tend to go for brands that are great for darker skin – Bobbi Brown/Mac. Also, I’ve struggled to find the correct foundation brand for years as I felt that I never stumbled upon a brand that covered dark circles and blemishes ( even though they ALL claim to do so). Funnily enough when I started using a primer (specifically the Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer), I found that my foundation lasted for a lot longer and covered double the amount of blemishes that it did before hand – Result! I’ve also found financially that investing in a good primer is key, seeing as I’ve already tried The BodyShop and Mac primers. However, the best one that I have come across at the moment appears to be the Photo Finish Foundation Primer from Smashbox.

Now, I hadn’t actually heard of Smashbox before I tried it and I think it’s definitely an up-and-coming make-up brand in the UK ( I remember it being mentioned on the reality program, The Hills years ago). One of my friends gave me a sample of the product and I don’t think I’ll be trialing any other products any time soon – I’m in heaven.

The first thing that made me fall in love with this primer was the velvet-like feel that it provided when it was spreadΒ over skin. The Mac primer I used also had this effect but I felt that it didn’t spread as easily, plus I experienced less coverage. Whereas, the Smashbox primer was wonderfully silky smooth on any area that I applied it to. It also filled in a lot of pores on my face, which I found no other primer did and this was incredibly important to me as it enhances the end product. I do have relatively dry skin, so it’s important to remember that the effects may vary on different skin types, but I found that during varied occasions throughout the day, the primer really enabled my make-up to last and glow!

The primer simply makes you feel like you have created a smooth canvas that will protect and soothe your skin at the same time. Another aspect of the primer that I found to be incredibly important, not just for myself but for all women, was the fact that my skin could breathe. I have to admit, I try not to wear make up on the days that I am relaxing to avoid wastage and to improve skin quality, so there’s nothing worse than putting on your make up and feeling incredibly suffocated. Fortunately, the Photo Finish Foundation Primer is beautifully lightweight yet nourishing at the same time – Perfection!

I’ve found that no matter how long you wait for the primer to dry before applying make-up, your foundation and blusher literally last for hours. It’s fab for nights out when your dancing like a queen and are bound to feel clammy. Or, even more so, the primer compliments a fast paced lifestyle, so if you’re like me where you end up finishing your make-up on the train or in the work staff room, then this primer is brilliant for being on the go and perfect for you.

At an RRP of Β£25, this is one of the best beauty investments that I have made and there is no way I’m looking back. Finally, a beauty product that ‘does what it says on the tin’, I’m a very happy girly! Get yours at – www.Smashbox.co.ukΒ 

5 thoughts on “Product Review: Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer

  1. I have heard nothing but great things about this primer, I really want to try it πŸ™‚ If you have the time please check out my blog and if you like it give me a follow back πŸ™‚ x

    beautyblogxo.wordpress.com

  2. This was the first primer I tried after reading rave reviews. It’s brilliant- nowhere near as heavy or greasy as I expected it to be! Plus, my make-up looked fresh all day- I didn’t feel the need to touch up at all!

Leave a Reply

