Holding onto my childhood – Jelly heaven

I vividly remember when I copped my first pair of jelly shoes and it’s safe to say that I was definitely considered to be a bit strange in my friendship group for having these weird shoes, but it didn’t bother me because I was in heaven. The shoes enabled me to happily enjoy flashbacks from the times in my childhood which were surrounded by wonderful memories and holidays. Jelly shoes seemed to form a huge part of this memory, so my recent purchase filled me with nostalgia.

I’ve been craving a more ‘updated’ pair for my holiday to Cuba and have recently been on the look out on all sorts of bargain sites (eBay being the favourite). I found these jelly shoes in a completely random and beaten up-looking shoe shop in Leicester, for a reasonable price.

I thought it wasn’t appropriate to have my toes on show just yet (no one wants to see that, trust me), so I bought some floral socks to wear with them for the time being.

photo 4
photo 3
photo 2
photo 1

I thought these would be fab for walking straight from the beach all the way into the ocean! That’s practicality at it’s best – I don’t care how sad it is that I enjoy this functional element of my footwear! It makes me feel like a kid again.

After all, fashion shouldn’t always be so serious. No one made the rules that way. I am a little worried about them melting in the hot climate, but I guess that’s the risk with bargain shopping! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

