NYX Dewy Finish Setting Spray

If you have been following my blog recently you would have read about my fabulous internship with Good Housekeeping magazine. On my last day with the magazine, the beauty department decided to clear through their masses of free product and throw a beauty sale ‘eeeeeek’. I was incredibly lucky to be there drooling over the selection and of course I grabbed as many beauty bargains as possible (whilst attempting to maintain my dignity in case I was to ever see these lovely people again).

One of the products that I was able to grab was this NYX Setting Spray. Now, I’ve never used a setting spray before – I’m a novice when it comes to make-up tips, but I’m always searching for cool tricks to improve the appearance of my make-up. I’m not really one to wear make-up full time – in the past I’ve tried to force it, but if I’m honest I prefer to look natural and feel clean!

Prior to using the product I checked some reviews online just to see what I should be able to expect. The reviews came from far and wide, ranting and raving about this magical product. So, I eagerly gave this NYX setting spray a go. Over the first few trials I struggled to locate the miracle make-up setting qualities. However, the spray was really put to the test during my recent day at work.

I work in the center of town, so as a skint student my journey often entails a 40 minute walk into town, before and after work. On most days I am met with horribly grizzly weather, so I thought this would be a perfect opportunity to test the setting spray. To my amazement, after walking to work, plus a full day at work (involving running around like a headless chicken) and a walk home in the piddling down rain, I was absolutely delighted with the state of my make-up on my return. Usually, my Benefit blusher is the first thing to leave me during a long day, however when I arrived home it was still present with barely any signs of fading. My Laura Mercier highlighter was still glowing gladly on my cheekbones and down the center of my nose. Even my Clinique eye shadow remained in tact without any signs of cracking or fading. I was thrilled. I only used 3 pumps of the spray and I was very surprised with the holding time that the product gives. Plus as someone who hates the feeling of make-up, I was incredibly happy with the lightweight feel to the product.

Finally, the promised dewy element to the product picked up the various products on my face that used highlighting tones, which was great. I will definitely be testing this setting spray on a night out to fully put it to the test – where else would be better than a sweaty disco box?

In the mean time, I think I’ve just discovered my latest love!

DSC_0487

Leave a Reply

