Meditating the negativity out of my life

Have any of you tried meditation to reduce some of life’s anxieties? As I’ve been trying to surround myself with positive readings and ideas, meditation is one that creeps up an awful lot so I thought I’d finally give it a try. At the moment, it’s something that I’m trying to commit myself to in order to provide myself with some time out from the day, in the hopes of quietening my thoughts and returning my center back to a positive place. I’m definitely an ‘over-thinker’ and something like meditation provides me with the chance to just sit, simply be and escape.

So how does one meditate?

Firstly, I cleanse my room of any negative energy in ways that I see fit – for instance lighting candles, putting relaxing music on and ensuring it’s tidy. I enjoy low lighting in the evening and during the day utilising natural light. Then I either sit on the floor with my legs crossed, hands relaxing on my knees and a straight back or I will sit somewhere where my back can be supported in an upright position. Posture is very important in meditation. You can meditate for as long as you like but I’ve been starting with ten minutes as it seems to be the perfect amount of time to remain interested, yet still be able to feel the effects.

Whilst I’m meditating, thoughts creep in and out of my head and it is difficult to avoid this. I haven’t quite managed to reduce all of my thoughts but this is something that comes with time and years of perfection. During this process I picture positive energy pouring into my head (usually I associate this with the colour white). This may all sound bizarre but it is what I have seemed to research from various sources and it works for me :). I think with meditation, it’s all about finding what’s right for you and your mind.

After meditating, I tend to feel very relaxed and slow – I enjoy this feeling as it provides a favourable opposite to my usual mind. However, I do struggle to find the dedication to meditate every day, so this is my challenge for the week – meditate every day.

3 thoughts on “Meditating the negativity out of my life

Leave a Reply

